RSS

Daily Archives: January 31, 2012

Children of the night

I have a 10 hour drive to Bucharest today to get back on track. The weather is really slowing things down.

So much to see on this stretch.

I stopped off about half way to Bucharest for lunch in Hunedoara, now a largely industrial town. There are wide streets and tall, flat-fronted buildings, but I am drawn to the castle nearby. For this is the centre of Transylvania. Just north is Sighişoara, the birth place of Vlad III! Better known later as Vlad the Impaler, the son of the Dragon, or Dracul. Bram Stoker later used him for the creation of Dracula. Well worth a read, by the way. I got something to eat and drink somewhere warm and made my way up to the Hunyadi castle, with it’s gothic-style turrets and walls.

A Transylvanian castle in gothic style.

The detail is incredible.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vlad_the_Impaler

I leave with the castle in my back window, but can’t shake the feeling I am being watched!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 31, 2012 in Enroute